July-Beautiful People: Author Writing Process Edition

I’m excited for another beautiful people since I missed the last few and ~voila~ this month it’s about authors so I don’t have to decide which character to do mine about. Choosing between characters is like choosing a favorite child. 

Does this also mean I’m beautiful? *hopefully crosses fingers*

Anyway. Here goes.

Introducing me, the author.

  1. How do you decide which project to work on?

Well, it is a complicated sort of decisions. First I decide based on what I should be working on (usually something I have hopes of publishing) and then go and work on something else. #procrastination

2. How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

Honestly, it depends. My very first novel took me two years, my second one about a year and a half, my third a year, and my fourth one month (my first NaNo). I haven’t finished a novel since NaNo ’15. Short stories, on the other hand, take anywhere from thirty minutes to two years to complete.

3. Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

Freewriting about worldbuilding or character motivations often gives me motivation to work on the actual project. Sometimes I’ll also get in the mood after watching a good movie or listening to an interesting song.

4. What time of day do you write best?

The evening. I am a night owl through and through and will do anything to avoid going to bed. 

5. Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?

Not…really. I don’t think I’ve fully developed my “writing voice”, so it fluctuates from project to project. Though I’ve really been impressed by the style of C. S. Lewis, Anne Elisabeth Stengl, and Markus Zusak, so my style might borrow from theirs.

6. Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?

I started because my friend had written a novel and it sounded like fun. I scrapped a few plots and first chapters, then found a good starting point and never really stopped. I keep writing because I think, once I become better, I’ll be able to share through my stories. I want to give people something they will enjoy and show them the things I’ve learned through the challenges my characters face.

7. What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

Research papers for school. Those are really really hard because you have to research everything and I hate research which is why I do not write historical fiction.

8. Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?

I want to write a musical soooooo bad. I don’t have any solid ideas yet, but it sounds like a lot of fun. You get to write dialogue, action, lyrics, and music. I’m just not ready yet because my music composition skills are rusty and I can’t rhyme to save my life.

I also want to write a screenplay. I feel more prepared to write a screenplay than I do to write a musical, but I just don’t have any solid ideas yet: just a few started projects that I am rather pleased with but ,sadly, very stuck in. 

9. What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

One of my two goals for this year is to publish a book.

I don’t know if that’s going to happen. I haven’t been focusing on a project in particular.

But, my other goals for this year are to complete all the NaNos, and so far I managed to complete April’s goal. So far June is a bit rocky, but I’m hoping to catch up soon.

Also, my goal is to finish at least one entry for the Five Poisoned Apples contest. I have two ideas so hopefully I will be able to complete this. 

10. Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif!

giphy-downsized.gif
(actual footage of me trying to create words)

So, I hope y’all liked that! 

Let me know your own answer to question #8 in the comments. That’s a really good question. I like that one. 

Until next time,

Catherine

10 thoughts on “July-Beautiful People: Author Writing Process Edition

  1. So I’m the reason you started writing? Sweetness! (and I am happy that at least one good thing came out of the mess that was my first novel lol).
    As to question 8: I also want to write a musical, but I am not very good at writing musical style music. I can write songs in the ancient ballad style where each verse has the same simple tune with perhaps slight variations, but music on the level of West Side Story or 1776 or Hamilton is beyond my wildest dreams. I can write the songs no problem (I’ve already written one for the musical of my dreams) but music… nah.

    Like

    1. Seems we may have to collaborate on a musical at some point. You bring the lyrics, I’ll bring the music, though I daresay I’m not quite musically talented enough for an epic musical, but with practice I’m sure I can be…

      Like

  2. My writing dream is to write a screenplay of the Silmarillion, either as a trilogy or a miniseries. I’d gather all the true and faithful around me and together we could create a film saga of some sort that’s as true to the book as possible.
    But, since I have no money, I doubt this will ever be realized. Alas.

    Like

    1. Freewriting’s a very nice way to figure things out. I’ll just give myself a “what if” sort of question or scenario, or a plothole and start writing, just creating all these possibilities and often something will click and my problem will be fixed 🙂

      Like

  3. I didn’t even take research papers into consideration when I thought of what the most difficult thing I’d ever written was. Think I’d still have to go with my novel length works though. They’re just took so much more time than any paper I’ve ever written.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have this dream about someday writing a non-fiction book. It will have to be down the road when I have more time. Maybe a self-help book of sorts to help young ladies avoid some of the mistakes I made while dating…

    Like

Leave a Reply

