Steady As She Goes

Now for the third songfiction. This is based off of the song “Steady as She Goes”, the third song on Sky Sailing’s album “An Airplane Carried Me to Bed”. Despite my dislike for first person present tense, I figured this one would sound best in that style.

Anyway, read it (if you dare), and I will be back in a few days!


photo (2)

I wake up at daybreak, my alarm clock going off beside my bed. My eyes open with a start, even though my body is a tad slower. Dust motes float in the golden beam of sunlight peeking beneath the ragged blinds of the only window in my room. I grin in anticipation as I realize what today is. Excitement pulls me out of that bed. I don’t bother making it. I have no need for it.

No more nightmares. Sweet dreams for as long as I can foresee. Storms are turning to fair weather.

I load my bags into the trunk of my car, completely forgetting to eat breakfast. I had left everything I knew behind, chasing vain dreams: a voyage that had left me stranded, but finally, I am returning. The ship is returning to port, fresh breezes pulling at twice mended sails, stale ropes creaking, but alive with the promise of the return. Life has thrown so much at me, yet here I am: still alive.

Taking a deep breath, I start the car and pull out of the driveway. All my belongings are packed in the trunk and I am ready to never see this old apartment again. I turn the radio on and the long highway stretches out before me towards the horizon. As the song that I hardly recognize fills up my ears, my mind turns towards the friends and family who are anticipating my return.

Rachel is back home waiting for me. The thought of her brings a smile to my lips. It is barely morning, the sun still not fully suspended in the sky. long shadows are falling away to the west, pointing my way back home, but she is most likely awake and worrying about my safety. I hope her thoughts are on me even as mine are on her.

On the passenger seat, propped against one of my bags, I had placed the book she had let me borrow last time I visited. I had enjoyed it, even if the only reason I had done so was because she had recommended it. i can not recall the plot line of the book, only that I had thought of her with every turning of the page.

Next to the book, spilling out of the broken zipper of my backpack, is a picture in a simple wooden frame that is more valuable to me than anything. I am standing next to a young woman wearing a graduation cap and gown, holding her diploma above a radiant smile. Sarah had just made her debut on stage, fulfilling her dreams of being an actress on Broadway. This will be my first time seeing my little sister since then. I am so proud of her, and have looked forward to seeing her ever since. We had encouraged her, her angelic voice filling up our home as she practiced, the voice that will fill many theaters in the years to come. Our parents had mailed me a letter filled with newspaper clippings, and I knew we were not the only ones who believed her to be the best. I wonder where both of us would have been without our parents’ encouragement.

If it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t be coming back.

My thoughts are elsewhere, but I leave my concentration on the road as the radio plays song after song that I can barely distinguish over the sound of the tires eating up the distance between here and there. I sign proclaims my passing from one state to the next. One less state line between me and those I love. They are always in my heart, and even if I do not tell them that enough, it is one of my most recurring thoughts.

A memory flashes behind my eyes of Rachel and me. We had taken a walk once over the beach, the crashing waves crowned with white, drowning out the words we were trying to say to each other. So we looked into each other’s eyes and kept our thoughts to ourselves. We would try to read each other’s minds (with unsuccessful results), but there is one thing she knows. I’m dying to see her again.

The sun rises and sets over my journey, and I soon see a long familiar country road. i new chapter of my life is starting and I am on my way to a better life, although I do not know what lies out there. This ship might be putting into port, but it is about to head out again on a grander adventure. The seas can change, the tides will turn, but so long as she remains steady, the ship can handle anything.

Steady as she goes.

 


 

One thought on “Steady As She Goes

Leave a Reply

