The Book Tag

I was tagged by Ashley over at Inklings Press (once again I kinda stole it instead of actually being nominated…).

Rules
You must be honest.
You must answer all the questions.
You must tag at least 4 people.

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes

Technically, I have had Fox in Socks for longer, but I’m not counting it on account of not being a novel. Johnny Tremain was a birthday present to me when I was nine or ten, and has been one of my favorites ever since. There’s even a crease in the cover from where I accidentally sat on it. Let’s just say that there were a lot of emotion when that happened…

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

Current Read: Veiled Rose by Anne Elisabeth Stengl. It’s a reread, and I am realising just how much I miss The Tales of Goldstone Wood series. Eleven year old Leo is the best:)

Last Read: I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter. My friend basically forced me to read it, and I liked it as much as I was expecting too. It wasn’t an instant favorite, but I didn’t regret any of my time.

Next Read: Les Mis. Maybe. But seeing as how I don’t plan any further than 10 hours in my future without having a nervous breakdown, this is not a definite. And seeing as how it has taken me nine months to get to 31%, we might be here for a while before I finish it.

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.

My cousins loved it and I read it out of curiosity. It was my first Sci-fi novel, and I hated it. Ender is a terrible person, and so is basically everyone else in the book. If I were to reread it, I might like it more and would no longer hate it because of the Sci-fi element, but I don’t think anything can force me to like any of the characters.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’dell.

I tried, folks. I tried. I’ve attempted at least five times, even got halfway once, but I don’t think it will ever happen.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

Retirement? Seeing as how I don’t believe in this thing called planning, this is an irrelevant question. However, as soon as I’m eighteen, I will probably start reading the books in the Adult section at the library. I’m currently cautious around that section because I’m scared some adult is going to card me or something. Be proud of me, Adult family members who are concerned for my well-being: You will find me in the library, not in the tobacco store, exercising my right as an adult this November.

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

I used to have a bad habit of reading the last page, but I have recently broken it. I will only know what happens later in the book now if I accidentally flip to the wrong page or I accidentally stumble across someone’s review that isn’t labeled for spoilers but should be.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I like them! I very rarely ever read everything in the acknowledgement seeing as how they are full of names I don’t know and tons of inside jokes, but I definitely appreciate the author putting them in there. I want to be in an acknowledgement someday. I want to write an acknowledgement someday. #writergoals

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

This is a very hard question. I like a lot of fictional characters, but wouldn’t necessarily want to become them… Maybe I’d switch with a Hufflepuff in Harry Potter (not Cedric Diggory though) or some character in Tales of Goldstone Wood.

NO.

I got it.

I”ll be Owen from The Secret Series. He’s my favorite character, and I would love to have his skills 🙂

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

I envy people that can basically hide memories inside of books, but I just can’t. I tend to remember what I was writing during a specific time of my life. I can reread one of my old manuscripts and give a patchy description of what was going on in my life at the time. I can’t do the same with books.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I’m too young to remember this, but once I tore a library book to shreds so after paying our fine, our family got to keep it, so now there’s a scotch-taped picture book version of The Little Red Hen on our bookshelf.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

Last year I gave away my Lord of the Rings piano book (it counts as a book, right?) to my previous crush’s little brother. I’m pretty certain I just let him borrow it, but I can’t remember how I worded it (so he might just keep it forever). The reason I let him have it was because he loves playing piano and Lord of the Rings, and he’s a special person because he has a cool name.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

First place goes to my Bible. Second place goes to Johnny Tremain. I’m certain I brought that book everywhere. Though in more recent times, Les Mis wins, even though it’s on my kindle and where it goes, fifteen other books come as well, but I have definitely read it in the most places: at my driver’s test, at my grandparent’s house, at my aunts house, at co-op, at home…

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

Well, seeing as how I’m still in highschool…I only really hated reading The Knight of the White Cross, and I’m fairly certain I will still hate it in two years time. It was terrible.

14. Used or brand new?

Brand New, though more often than not, I will get used books because they’re cheaper.

And physical books are way better than ebooks.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope. Have you?

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

The Maze Runner, even though I actually haven’t finished reading the book, but I’ve gotten far enough to form an opinion.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Every book in the Redwall series.

Who reads cookbooks?

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My friends, I guess, though one recommended Divergent and I regret ever reading that…

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

Doctor Who Psychology. It’s a bunch of Essays. It’s non-fiction. I loved it.


Thanks for making it this far guys!

I tag these people(sorry if you’ve done this before. I didn’t bother to check):

  • Rubix
  • Victoria
  • Linda
  • Anyone who wants to do this! Even if you don’t have a blog, you can write your answers to the questions in the comments. I look forward to hearing your responses!

 

17 thoughts on “The Book Tag

  1. I’ve heard that about Ender, lol. And I remember listening to Island of the Blue Dolphins on cassette tape a loooong time ago and really liked it! Maybe you could try that? Lol, I was in the adult section when I was 14 (only adult Christian fiction though, duh), and felt So Adult. Gah, I should’ve said Maze Runner too! DYLAN O’BRIEN, THOUGH. I don’t regret reading Divergent as much as I regret people dissing it without knowing what it’s about. That book was the beginning of my “let’s traverse outside of Christian fiction, shall we?” book, and I remember a lot of my Christian friends giving me a lot of flack for it. Like, excuse me, have you heard of this thing called grace? smh. Anyway. Loved reading your answers!

    Like

    1. Hmm…maybe I could try that, but I am slightly allergic to audio books. The readers are always boring and have a terrible female voice if they’re male, and that annoys me. Audio dramas are amazing though.
      I’ve only been to the adult Christian section about three times in my life, so I get my Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker from my mom when she checks them out. Thr3e is my current favorite.
      I love the movie so much, though I’m here for Thomas Brodie Sangster. 😀
      I like the story behind Divergent, and that’s what kept me reading into Insurgent, but I really hated Tris as the books went on. She started off as a great character who knew she didn’t belong, and I understood her choice, but I feel like she went off the deep end, and the romance really dragged away from the storyline (and I was skipping pages at a few points). Maybe if I read it again I’ll have more of an appreciation for it, and probably will be able to find the good themes in it (I know they’re in there). And yeah. People can diss it if they want, but they have to read the book first. Should have heard me before my deviation from Christian fiction…”Hunger games is evil” “Tangled is about rebellion” “Harry Potter is from the devil”. Let’s say my opinions have changed completely since then:). Though this new philosophy means I can’t say mean things about Twilight…
      Thanks so much for reading and commenting! 😀

      Like

      1. Ha! I agree, most of the time. I just got a collection of Eloise books read by Bernadette Peters and DANG. I could listen to that all day! And I looove audio dramas.

        Nice! I’ll have to watch it!

        Interesting. I want to read the rest of the trilogy sometime. Maybe this summer. We’ll see. Yeppppp. I was there too – except Tangled, although I know plenty of people who wouldn’t let their kids see it because of the *gasp* rebellion.

        Like

      2. Yeah. I’m not often opinionated about things, but I have quite the opinion on Tangled and always let people know about how it’s really about abuse and how whatever rebellion that was in there was for a very good reason.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay but how is it normal to read the last page first? I just like?? Can’t?? Comprehend that??

    Also, Island of the Blue Dolphins. Bleh. Don’t try anymore. I read it, thinking it’d be something amazing because people praise it so much, but I cannot remember anything that touched or moved me in that book.

    Thanks for the tag! It’s a while since I’ve done one, so this’ll be fun. =)

    Like

    1. It’s a terrible temptation for some. It’s great you don’t have that problem 🙂
      I guess liking it depends on the person. My sister really liked Island of the Blue Dolphins, but she didn’t finish The King’s Fifth, which is my favorite Scott O’Dell book.
      My pleasure! I can’t wait to see what your answers are!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve read the Island of the Blue Dolphins several times, because I like all her pet animals. I honestly don’t like the book very much except for the animals–it’s the same reason I read and reread The Swiss Family Robinson when I was a kid.
        And for me, the only reason I ‘last-page’ as Brandon Sanderson puts it, is because I love the characters so much and I get really worried one of them is going to get hurt, so I peek at the end to see if they’ll be okay. Or at least I used to–Brandon Sanderson’s methods of fighting and curing the last-paging epidemic are *extremely* successful, and I’ve only done it once or twice in the past few years.

        Like

  3. I HATED ENDER’S GAME TOO!!!!! It was awful. And depressing. And weird. And everyone in there were awful cruel people that were like six years old. How weird is that. LOL I’m so happy to find someone who thinks that too lol

    Like

      1. I only saw the movie which didn’t seem as bad, though it was a little weird. It was okay, I guess. I don’t actually dislike it though I don’t have any desire to re-watch it, and I think it ended as well as could be hoped, given the story and circumstances. It definitely wasn’t as bad as I’ve heard the book was, though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The movie was actually pretty good. It was completely different from the book tho…… Which was disappointing for me because I saw the movie before reading the book lol so when I read the book I was like OMGH THIS IS DISTURBING!!! It really is extremely disturbing…

        Like

Leave a Reply

