March Books

I enjoyed making a list of books I read during February, so here is another list of the books I completed in March, and my summarized opinions on them.

33118942Where the Woods Grow Wild

4.5 stars
This was a very good book! I’ve been eyeing it for a while, not quite certain if it was worth my money being a self-published book and everything, but then I got it for free. Who can say no to free books? This was a great lighter style fantasy, and I thoroughly enjoyed it, although there were a few loose threads that I found weren’t adequately addressed, but I guess that’s why we have sequels. Also, I really, really like the cover on this one:)

Skin

4 stars

I think my favorite horror/thriller author is Ted Dekker. Not that I have read any horror/thriller besides him and Frank Peretti. Out of all the books I’ve read in this genre, this one falls on the ‘meh’ scale. It was engaging and scary, but not frightening to the extent of “House” or as outstandingly amazing as “Thr3e”. So if you want to read something by Ted Dekker, read “Thr3e” because that is the best book ever! (Yes. I have a habit of recommending Thr3e every time I mention any other book by Ted Dekker)

The Selection & The Elite 

3 and 2 stars

Why did I read this, you ask? Well…I kinda heard it was different from the usual young adult style novels, but I don’t know who I heard it from because if I did, I would have found the person who said it and called them a liar. This is a typical YA where it’s a Hunger Games wannabe with a central Love Triangle. And they passed up on the opportunity to have a great guy/girl friendship that doesn’t end in attraction. Also, the most interesting part of this series for me is the politics. Which is not a good sign.

Shadows of the Hersweald & Mercy of Fate

5 and 5 stars

Shadows of the Hersweald is definitely in my top five books read this month. I can only say good things about it and it’s companion short story, Mercy of Fate. And for one who usually hates allegories and is a little wary of fairy tale retellings (though I just can’t stay away from them), this means my praise is not showered lightly.

Holes

5 stars

Well I have been reading this for several months now, spending a week at a time reading in the church library between services. Then my mom finally got it out of the library so I could finish reading the last fifteen pages. It was very good. Strange, but intriguing.

The Book Thief 

4.75 stars

This was an amazing book that practically left me in shambles. Probably my best read this month, although I definitely did not enjoy the swearing. Or Death’s predisposition to spoil everything. But I really did like Death. And my favorite character DIDN’T die, although my second and third favorite did. And I cried. or almost cried. That’s the problem with reading books like that in public. You are forced to keep your tears to yourself.

 

Overall:

8 books (Agh. it feels so small compared to last month…)

4.16 average.

Favorite characters deaths: 2

Have you ever read any of these books? What were your opinions on them?

One thought on “March Books

Leave a Reply

