The Perks of Working at Chick-fil-A

Well hello everyone! I know I have not been blogging regularly, and I blame that on my new job which involves me woking 20-some hours a week, and with at least ten hours to go to sleep every night (I am an insomniac so I need more time than most people to get in my eight hours), it leaves me 70 or so hours in which to get my eating, writing, schoolwork, reading, binge-watching, and procrastinating done.

So I have been working at Chick-fil-A , for a little over a week, having started last Thursday, and I am here to tell you why it is an awesome place to work!

Note: this list is in no particular order, and is not completely serious. Just for fun 🙂

  • It’s a job! It’s better than sitting at home
    Photo on 3-26-17 at 6.49 PM
    I bought this! Reason #1: it was on sale. Reason#2: I have money now:)

    everyday spending many hours hours a week staring at the computer screen… And it also means I’m able to afford certain things I’ve been wanting to get;)

  • Extroversion practice! If you’re a hardcore introvert like me who can go days without talking to their best friends and not feel withdrawn or anything, you will definitely be astounded at the amount of extroversion you have to exhibit on a daily basis.
  • It’s a small world! Even though I do not live in the south, the phrase “Everyone works at Chick-fil-A” still applies. Really. Two people who I am graduating with work there, a guy who teaches at my co-op, and my horse riding teacher from when I was twelve. Also, a lot of familiar people come to the restaurant. I’ve seen people from my co-op, LBC, and other people I recognize.
  • Everyone who works there is incredibly nice. They seem happy to have me around. Maybe it’s because my social anxiety has disappeared, but I think it’s also because everyone there is very kind and patient.
  • Development of upper body strength! No kidding. It takes a lot of arm strength to refill the lemonade and tea cannisters, and to bring the buckets full of those beverages out to the front of the store, not to mention scooping ice…
  • A new vocabulary! Now, on a daily basis, whenever someone says “thank you” I will automatically reply with “my pleasure”. Not to mention a repeated use of “I can serve the next guest”, “May I refresh your beverage?”, and “thank you”.
  • Lip reading. There are a ton of people in the restaurant on a daily basis (especially saturdays. Yikes!), and therefore there is a lot of noise, which means you have to speak louder, and for some reason, the guest doesn’t get the memo, so you have to interpret what they’re saying by reading their lips.
  • Time-management becomes a new priority. Needless to say, I no longer have time to procrastinate on pinterest, so instead I spend that time reading or catching up on my science. And it’s also forcing me to realise that I can’t really have spontaneous get-togethers with my friends. They need to be planned out at least a week in advance so I can ask for time off of work.
  • Discounted food!!!! Although the one downside of this is that my sister is craving Chick-fil-A on a daily basis, and is constantly demanding me bring her home everything from a chicken sandwich to a frosted strawberry lemonade (which is amazing). Between a pregnant woman and my sister craving food, I know who would win.
  • Seriously though. Try the frosted strawberry lemonade. It is to die for.

And this concludes my list :). Have a great day!

*quickly reads over post one time before publishing because Sundays are precious to the Chick-fil-A employee and I relish all the free time I can get*

God bless!

Catherine

3 thoughts on “The Perks of Working at Chick-fil-A

Leave a Reply

