February Books

My goal for the year of 2017 is to read 100 books. So, hey? Why don’t I talk about all the books I read last month which went towards the goal? This won’t really be a collection of reviews (because I read a lot this month) but more or less my opinions and my suggestions.

The Abolition of Man. I started reading this book months back, but then I found it again and finished it this month. It was good, with some very deep concepts that actually made sense to me (I usually hate nonfiction like this because it never makes any sense). However, the Chronicles of Narnia will always be my favorite C. S. Lewis books.

Doctor Who Psychology: A Madman With a Box. This book was awesome! I read a review

28508635
Isn’t it beautiful?

on another book in this series and discovered there was a Doctor Who version. After a little bit of thought, I bought the book and a few days later, I started reading it. It was a nice
reward for me after finishing my psychology class reading, and I kinda did a little happy squeal every time they mentioned one of the subjects I was learning about in my class. They covered many aspects of psychology, focusing mainly on personality which is the topic that made me interested in psychology in the first place. However, this was not written from a Christian worldview, so there is a bit of evolutionary thought, but not a whole bunch.

The Shakespeare Stealer Shakespeare’s Scribe. The first one was a reread, and I loved it as much the second time as I did the first, even though I remembered almost everything that happened. However, it was my first time reading the second one. It was faster in pace than the first, but I liked it a lot less, although Widge’s character development is to be applauded, but the author tore out my heart, ate it, stabbed it, then lit it on fire. Not certain if I’m going to read the third book.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay. This. Was. Amazing!!! I had seen the trailers a hundred times and seen all the gif sets on pinterest (and read all the reviews that should have been marked as spoilers), therefore I knew more or less what was going to happen. But I still fell in love with the characters, fell in love with the story, and nearly cried at the end. Also this was the first screenplay I read other than my own (which I have never finished. hehe). Also, two days after finishing this, I went and watched the movie 😀

I am the Great Horse. This was a source of nostlagia for me because I read this book at least four times when I was a kid within months of each other (note that this is a very rare treatment because I usually cannot reread books). I rediscovered characters I had forgotten about (and one who might have become a bit of an inspiration for one of my own) and once again was reminded why I absolutely love historical fiction.

The Secret Series (books #1, #2, #3, &4). This was nostalgia again. I read the first two books once before on my cousin’s kindle and really really liked them, then reread them because I told my mom they would make great books for my younger brothers to read. They’re humorous, and full of fun facts about things like synesthesia and alchemy, although slightly dark for being a children’s book. Then I read books 3 and 4 for the first time. I love the author’s sense of humor.

Stars Above. I read the Lunar Chronicles a while ago and liked them a lot, so I was excited when I found out there was this collection of short stories. I didn’t really have a particular favorite, although I nearly cried over “the Little Android”, and was making happy squeals and everything over “Something Old, Something New.”

7069751
Read this book right now.

Heartless. This was a reread, and boy am I glad I reread it. Tales of Goldstone Wood is the best series ever and you had better go out now and buy a copy of all eight books and novellas. If you want a reason, it is because Anne Elisabeth Stengl has put the series on hiatus and buying more of them will give her incentive to change her mind.

Rapunzel Let Down. This was a fast paced book (sort of) and I stayed up until two o’clock in the morning finishing it. Word of warning though, do not read this if you are a younger child. It’s got some pretty heavy subject matter, and almost too much for my taste. It stuck close to the original fairy tale, and that at least made me happy. And the fact that my favorite character didn’t die either, although I was really scared at the end that he would be killed. My favorite characters tend to meet those kinds of ends.

Counts:

13 books

4.30 average rating (They were all pretty good)

2 favorite character death ( not counting the death of my third and fourth favorite characters in I am The Great Horse) 

Have you ever read any of these books? What are your opinions on them?

Thanks for reading!

Catherine

5 thoughts on “February Books

  1. I’ve read Heartless, of course (thanks to your wonderful influence, may you be praised forever for it) and it is one of my most favorite series in the history of the world. It forced me to change my list from the Four Faves to the Five Faves. I’ve read all three of the Shakespeare stealer series and while I was unhappy about what happened in the second one like you, I really did like the third. I’ve also read Stars Above and my reaction is pretty much what yours was. The rest I haven’t read, most of them because I don’t like nonfiction, dislike most types of historical fiction, and don’t like Harry Potter. Ah well. I have heard of Repunzel Let Down though… hm. Worth looking into!

    Like

    1. Aw thank you. It certainly is one of the best series! I don’t even have a faves list. Probably should, but it’s hard to choose a favorite when I like so many books. I usually don’t like nonfiction but if it has anything to do with psychology, or written by C. S. Lewis, I will read it. However, I love historical fiction and it’s one of my favorite genres.

      Like

Leave a Reply

