A Reluctant Gryffindor

 

I have only been in the Harry Potter fandom for a little over five months so, like a true fan, I decided I needed to know my Hogwarts house.

While reading the books, I fell in love with Hufflepuff. Everyone made fun of them, calling them stupid without any brains, and that made me feel sorry for them, and very defensive. Then we meet Cedric Diggory who is a true Hufflepuff with a sense for fairness, even though he’s competing against Harry in The Goblet of Fire, but also with ability, seeing as how well he succeeds in the Triwizard Tournament. After him, we also meet Tonks who is incredibly talented and fun (and made it onto my favorite character list).

I decided I belonged as a Hufflepuff because when faced with the choice between Bravery, Cunning, Knowledge, or Loyalty as a defining trait, Loyalty is my first choice. I’m not the greatest friend material, but I try, and I’m not exceptionally hard working either, but I try as well. Seeing as how the sorting hat doesn’t sort you just based on how you are but also on how you will be (how Neville came to be a Gryffindor), and also takes your opinion into consideration (the reason why Harry ended up in Gryffindor too), I was certain I was one.

Then I took one of those online sorting quizzes. Nothing official, since I didn’t want to make a pottermore account at the time, but it sorted me into Gryffindor. I was shocked because all my answers seemed to be far from the ‘brave’ option. When faced with a challenge, my initial reaction is to flee first and fight as a last resort.

Finally, a couple weeks ago, I finally decided I was going to try an official test. I created the account on Pottermore, and desperately hoped it would get me right.

Wrong.

Gryffindor_crest.pngI was sorted into Gryffindor again, and there was nothing I could do to change it.

Now, I know it’s just a test and Hogwarts isn’t real so I shouldn’t get too worked up about it, but it really got me to thinking. Everything happens for a reason, so what was my reason for being sorted into Gryffindor?

I thought I belonged in Hufflepuff. Their traits are Loyalty and Hard-working. I thought this was me because I wasn’t intelligent like a Ravenclaw (although I like books), or cunning like a Slytherin, or brave like a Gryffindor. I thought of all the times I was afraid to speak my mind, or all the times I was too scared to do something.

But then I remembered all the times I had done things I had been afraid to do.

Someone once told me that I was an inspiration to them by the way I tried to do things that were hard for me. The instance he was talking about was the time I was climbing a tree and failing miserably. I required assistance eventually to get into the tree, and assistance to get back down. I didn’t even realise that was me being brave by trying again and again.

Then another time, someone said I was ‘determined’. I was doing something I didn’t like to do, but refused to give up, even thought I was being physically challenged beyond anything I had done before.

Lastly, one of my fears is a very specific High Ropes Course. I did it once and swore I would never do it again, but a year later, I was the very first person to go on it (not of my own accord. It was my climbing buddy who volunteered to go first so I was dragged along). I did it, and still hated it, but the fact that I faced my fear now gives me encouragement.

There are so many other instances that I was reminded of while writing this that I will not bother to write down. But they caused me to realise:

I belong in Gryffindor. I am a reluctant Gryffindor, and probably will always be so because part of my heart is in Hufflepuff. But I know there are reasons that I need to be in this house.

Perhaps I need to be in Gryffindor because I require reminders that I am brave and persevering when I want to give up.

I need to be reminded that I am not something to be undermined and left ignored.

I need to remember what makes me strong, and not forget the people who showed me what I need to remember.

God causes all things to happen for a reason. Not only have I been sorted based upon how I am, but I have also been sorted upon who I can be.

And technically I’ll be able to punch someone for saying mean things about a Hufflepuff, because that’s what Gryffindors do:D

8 thoughts on “A Reluctant Gryffindor

    1. Next time you tell anyone “I can’t write”, or “I’m not that good at writing”, I will pull up this post and say, “Read this and tell me you can’t write”. It is amazing and beautiful and like the most inspiring blog post I’ve ever read even though I don’t like Harry Potter. You go, girl.

      Like

Leave a Reply

