Reading, ‘Riting, and ‘Rithmetic

Good morning! I am here to apologize for my failure to post something last week. I have a good okay excuse, and it involves the three Rs: Reading, ‘Riting, and ‘Rithmetic. Although honestly I don’t need excuses. This is my blog so I can do what I want, but I want to have a more goal oriented life, and blogging at least once a week is a good start.

‘Rithmetic

Now, my excuse actually only involves the third R. ‘Rithmetic. Last week, I was absorbing math. I was doing (or at least trying to do) algebra problems three miles long, graphing parabolas, memorizing formulas, and solving for X. Those of you who know me are now quite certain that I am out of my mind. Since Pennsylvania only requires three credits of math, I have not been taking any form of algebra, geometry, or calculus this year. Math is poison to my brain, so therefore I try not to touch it. Not even with a three foot pole. But last week was different because I was studying for the SAT. I took it on Saturday and frankly have no idea how well I did.

Despite those worries, I am happy. Hallelujah that it’s over! No more math for the rest of my days!

Reading

Also, since Saturday, I finally got out of a reading slump. I’ve read barely anything in the past few months, and what I did read took me ages to complete because I just wasn’t into it. But all that changed and in the past seven days, I have roughly read one book a day excluding Sunday. In these six days, I have read The King’s Fifth by Scott O’Dell, (very good book, but don’t expect a book report from me on it) and the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. I am currently reading the fifth one which is an astounding  one thousand two hundred twenty-five pages long (solely because the only copy the library had was the large print one). Due to the great controversy concerning this series, and just because it sounds like fun, I will be writing a review of it and posting it on here. I’ll probably finish the series in the next week, and therefore should have my review out sometime this month. However, no promises 🙂

‘Riting

Here comes the third R. Yes, I know you noticed these are all out of order. My apologies. Haha. Just kidding. I actually have nothing to apologize for.

So, to talk about writing, *clears throat**mumbles incoherently* I haven’t done any recently.

Geez, Catherine. I thought you were a writer.

Heh. Me too. Sorry.

But, I am hoping to write some more this month, and as I said before, I want more goals in my life. Therefore, I’ve decided to set myself some goals specific for October.

Goal 1:

Since NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is coming up in November, I will be writing another novel. I have the idea, but I want to outline my plot. Note that by outlining I mean setting a few guidelines. Essentially, just give myself an end goal and a few checkpoints.

Goal 2:

Worldbuilding for my new novel. I want to be prepared for next month, and what is a story if it doesn’t have a believable world to live in?

Goal 3:

Write my book/series review for Harry Potter, and try to give a clear, unbiased view of it.

Goal 4:

Outline Days of Deception. This is an actual outline with structure and no loopholes. This goal may take me a while, so I’m not going to be sad if I fail to complete this one.

Yay! I have a list of things I need to do. I’d better get started! I’ll post at the end of the month to see if I finished these goals.

Until next time,

Catherine

One thought on “Reading, ‘Riting, and ‘Rithmetic

  1. Love the alliteration ;). And i’m glad you’re reading more! I always hate it when there isn’t time to read in my life. Wishing you luck with the worldbuilding and outlining and plotting, and I’m available as always to bounce things off of (ideas, not physical objects. That would hurt).

    Like

Leave a Reply

