First blog post

Hello everyone!

So, this is it. I am finally starting a blog. I’ve been wanting to do so for a very long time, and have finally worked around my procrastination to make it actually happen!

I guess I will start off with introducing myself, then tell you how and why I decided on “Write Whatever”.

Hello!

My name is Catherine Regitz (pronounced Rey-gitz, not Ree-jitz to clear up a common mispronunciation). I am a home schooled senior in high school. I have seven siblings (all younger than I am) and I love to write! I am not published yet (although I hope for that to change sometime in the near future). Some of my other hobbies are making movies with my siblings, window shopping, crafts, drawing, playing the piano, and procrastinating in general. Yes, I consider procrastinating a hobby, although it is actually more of a bad habit *nervous laughter*.

Writing has always been one of my favorite hobbies, but I didn’t start my first novel until I was twelve. Before I was twelve, I did write two books. One of them still exists (minus a few pages), and the other one disappeared mysteriously when I gave it to my mom to edit. That was probably for the best seeing as how I would most likely burn it if I saw it now (just kidding. I am not a pyromaniac, so I’d instead hand it off to one of my pyro—*ahem*—fire-inclined friends). I mostly write fantasy, although recently I’ve been working on some Sci-fi novels.

So now we get to the part where I explain the title of my blog. To be honest, I absolutely hate naming things. A lot of my poor secondary characters have been walking around for years with makeshift names such as “Ennan’s dad” and “WHF(Short for What’s-his-face)” (let’s not even get started on book titles and chapter names…), therefore I rely heavily upon baby name books and my friends who are better at naming than I (Side note: one reason why I avoid writing modern fiction is because then I am required to come up with last names for all my characters which is three times as hard as a first name).

But, naming my blog was rather easy. I am not saying that I named my blog, because in all honesty I didn’t. I know I didn’t mention it above, so I will mention it here. I am a Christian, and recently it was brought to my attention that I should be writing for God’s glory rather than my own. Long story short: recently, I was given Philippians 4:8-9 as an encouragement:

8. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. 

I was surprised that I had been given such a familiar verse. When I was in fourth grade, I memorized that for Missionettes, and unlike the weekly verses that I would quickly memorize then recite to the teacher and then forget five minutes later, I remembered it. It also showed up again last year when I was on a missions trip down in Florida. “Whatever” was the theme that week, and this verse was the basis of the theme. Then(to bring this ironic story to a close), I was taking a walk a little less than a week ago, talking to God about this blog and asking Him what I should name it, and “Write Whatever” popped into my head.

It’s always nice having an end goal in mind when you’re doing something, and now I’ve found my goal in writing.

Therefore, I will write Whatever: whatever is true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, and commendable.

Yup. There you have it. I have a mission statement, and I leave it up to you guys, and to God, to hold me accountable to it.

Thanks for reading! I hope I didn’t bore you to death with my story, and I hope you’ll stick around for more!

5 thoughts on “First blog post

Leave a Reply

